Counting of votes for high-stake assembly polls have begun in Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Puducherry.

In light of the ongoing pandemic, the Election Commission has announced strict guidelines, including restricted entry into counting centres and a ban on victory rallies. Polling agents with RT-PCR test certificates or two doses of vaccination will be admitted inside counting centres. Assembly elections were held in the five states, starting late March in several rounds, with the the final phase in West Bengal taking place on April 29.

There are 2,364 counting halls today, as compared to 1,002 halls in 2016, in 822 assembly constituencies, a more than 200 per cent increase, in view of the Covid guidelines, according to the Election Commission.

  • All
  • West Bengal
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Assam
  • Kerala
  • Puducherry


    Total: 292 (there are 294 seats; elections in two constituencies were not conducted following the deaths of candidates)
    Majority mark: 148

    TMC BJP CPM+ Others
    92 55 1 2


    Total: 234

    Majority mark: 118

    6 2


    Total: 140

    Majority mark: 71

    LDF UDF NDA Others
    48 47 4


    Total: 126

    Majority mark: 64

    NDA UPA URF Others
    16 15 3 1


    Total: 30 (plus three nominated members)

    Majority mark: 17

    NDA UPA Others
    4 1

    Here are the highlights:

    • KERALA: LDF maintains an edge. The Left alliance is ahead in 19 seats while the UDF is leading in 8
    • ASSAM: Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal leading in first round
    • PUDUCHERRY: NR Congress in the lead as per the latest leads. The Rangaswamy-led NR Congress is in an alliance with the BJP
    • KERALA: ‘Metro man’ E Sreedharan leading in Palakkad in postal vote counting
    • TAMIL NADU: Advantage Stalin as early leads show DMK+ ahead in 23 seats and AIADMK+ in 4
    • BENGAL: Neck-and-neck battle with TMC ahead in 59 seats, BJP in 53
    • TAMIL NADU: Early leads show the DMK in the lead. Exit polls have predicted a clean sweep for the party as the AIADMK is battling strong anti-incumbency.
    • KERALA: LDF is leading in 60 seats in postal votes
    • TAMIL NADU: DMK-led alliance now ahead in one seat
    • BENGAL: BJP now ahead in 3 seats, TMC in 1
    • ASSAM: Early leads show UPA ahead in two seats
    • Counting of votes has begun. Stay tuned for early leads

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *